Senate Passes Resolution Lauding UNTV Cup, Kuya Daniel

“Salamat sa UNTV sa pag-sponsor nito. Ipagpatuloy natin ito.”

This is what Senator Franklin Drilon uttered after their team Senate Defenders won their first UNTV Cup title with an 84-64 triumph against the Malacañang-PSC Kamao on Monday, March 12 at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.

A post shared by Arlene Razon (@soitsyou) on

From the left, Senators Win Gatchalian, Nancy Binay, Cynthia Villar, Sonny Angara, Koko Pimentel, Ralph Recto, Joel Villanueva, Franklin Drilon, Vicente Sotto III, Panfilo Lacson, Miguel Zubiri, JV Ejercito and Risa Hontiveros pose for a photo with the trophy after their team Senate Defenders grabbed the championship in UNTV Cup Season 6 Monday night. (Photo by Arlene Razon)

During the senate session on Wednesday, Senator Drilon announced a resolution commending the legislative body’s basketball team and the people behind UNTV Cup with the special mentions on BMPI President and CEO Kuya Daniel Razon and Bro. Eli Soriano of Members Church of God International (MCGI).

“It is my extreme pleasure and a distinct honor to be able to stand before this chamber to sponsor the resolution congratulating and commending the Senate Defenders for winning the UNTV Cup Season 6,” said Drilon.

“UNTV Cup was conceptualized by Kuya Daniel Razon as a charity basketball league to better serve the public through sportsmanship and camaraderie and healthy competition; sponsored by the Members Church of God International headed by Bro. Eli Soriano.”

Senators Joel Villanueva and Sonny Angara who both played for the Defenders together with the other members on the plenary, Win Gatchalian, Bam Aquino, Nancy Binay, Cynthia Villar, Koko Pimentel, Team Manager Ralph Recto, Tito Sotto, Panfilo Lacson, Miguel Zubiri, JV Ejercito and Risa Hontiveros all co-authored the said commendation.

All For Charity

Conceptualized in 2012 by Kuya Daniel, UNTV Cup is a public service advocacy that aims to inspire and encourage public servants to join hands in helping the underprivileged members of the society through sports.

A total cash prize of Php4 million was awarded to the designated beneficiaries of the Senate namely, “Tahanang Mapagpala”, which is a home for the elderly, Kythe Foundation, which helps the cancer-stricken, and the “Pangarap” Foundation, which aims to provide education to the street children.

The runner-up Malacañang-PSC Kamao also won Php2 million pesos to be given to their beneficiaries: Philippine Children’s Medical Center and Millennium Sports Support System Association, Inc.

Moreover, the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Cavaliers who finished third won Php1 million pesos which will go straight to the AFP Educational Benefit System Office while fourth placer National Housing Authority (NHA) Builders got P500,000 for the agency’s Provident Fund Association, Inc.

Other participating teams also won P100,000 each as consolation.

Written by John Kenneth Jaramilla