Senate Defenders Block Malacanañg-Kamao Win UNTV Cup Season 6

After a winless campaign last season, the Senate Defenders bounced back this year with the championship after sweeping the best-of-three finals series against the gritty Malacanañg-PSC Kamao at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum on March 12 this year.

“From winless season last year, to be [the] champs, I don’t know how you can describe that, but again, to God be the glory,” said Sen. Joel Villanueva. “Kudos to my team, kudos to my former team, the Malacañan, they gave us a great fight.”

“We’re happy we won. It’s a good game. Thanks to UNTV for sponsoring this, hopefully we will continue this, this is good.” said Sen. Franklin Drilon.

The beneficiaries, employees of the Senate, and even the senators who were there to watch were all overwhelmed.

“Congratulations, you guys deserve it, and also congratulations to UNTV for having a successful championship,” said Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri.

The Senate’s chosen beneficiaries will divide the P4,000,000 cash prize they won at the UNTV Cup Season 6 Finals. They are Kythe Foundation Inc., Tahanang Mapagpala Immaculada Concepcion Inc., and Pangarap Foundation, Inc.

Sec. Bong Go, Senators Praise UNTV Cup

“We would like to thank UNTV for this championship, for sponsoring this tournament. We would like to thank the Senate, Sen. Joel, my co-captain,” said Sen. Sonny Angara.

“Thank you very much to UNTV. This is really a significant help, especially to the chosen beneficiaries. This is what’s good here in this basketball game, that you already have the chance to play and help others the same time,” said Sec. Bong Go in an interview. “It’s a great feeling among the team, aside from winning, aside from playing, it’s nice to play but it’s better to help.”

For the first time, the Special Assistant to the President Christopher “Bong” Go played in the League of the Public Servants and led early the Malacañan-PSC Kamao in the first quarter by contributing 10 points, scoring 21-17.

With their strong defense play, the Kamao team found it difficult to catch up until the buzzer sounded with 84-64 as the final score for the last quarter, headed by Senators Joel Villanueva and Sonny Angara.

The Senate stole the advantage before the end of the first half, settling the score at 39-34.

During the third quarter, the hassle defense became stronger increasing its advantage to nine points which brought them to bigger lead with a score of 59-50.

Forcing to have 15 turnovers, the Senate Defenders blocked the Malacañan-PSC Kamao for five times and had total eight ball steals during the entire match, showing that they fully prepared for the Kamao team’s defense.

Although SAP Bong Go was forced to step out of the hardcourt due to an important call, he still enjoyed his first time in playing in the hardcourt of the League of the Public Servants.

Resolution Congratulating Senate Defenders Approved

Meanwhile, Senate Minority Leader, Franklin Drilon passed a resolution in the Senate and congratulated the Senate Defenders for bringing home the championship title in UNTV Cup Season 6 Finals against Malacañan-PSC Kamao.

“Mr. President, the UNTV Cup was conceptualized by Kuya Daniel Razon in 2012 as a charity basketball league dubbed as League of the Public Servants to better serve the public through camaraderie and healthy competition, sponsored by the Members Church of God, headed by Bro. Eli Soriano.” said Sen. Franklin Drilon.

Other List of Winners

Meanwhile, aside from the winning team, some UNTV Cup players were also given awards.

Three awards were given to Jeffrey Sanders of the Senate Defenders, who scored 20 points, 14 rebounds, 4 steals and a block:

● Finals MVP
● Most Defensive Player
● UNTV Cup Season 6 Top Five Player

For the second time, Antonio Lustestica Jr. of NHA Builders was named as the:

● Seasons MVP
● Top Five Player

While Marlon Basco of PDEA Drug Busters was named as the:

● Scoring Championship
● Top Five Player

While Julius Rabino of the Judiciary Magis named as the “Most Improve or Step-up Player”

Also included in the top five were Eric dela Cuesta of the Malacañan-PSC Kamao and James Abugan of the GSIS Furies.

Written by: Maikka Dungog