Kuya Daniel Gives Over P1-Million to Charity through 1st Wish 107.5 Awards

From basketball through photography to concerts, Kuya Daniel Razon once again proved he could turn a simple event into charity. This time via the 1st Wish 107.5 Music Awards.

Kuya Daniel Razon - Wish 107.5 Awards 2016
Through the recently-concluded music award held at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum, the seasoned broadcaster and Chairman and CEO of BMPI-UNTV gave away a total of P1.1 million for the beneficiaries of the winning music artists.

“This night is not just a simple awards night. This night is also a night of giving and a night of lending our hand to the needy,” Kuya Daniel said during the awards night.

Wish 107.5 Music Awards commended young Original Pilipino Music (OPM) artists in different categories. For every major award, the artist also received P100,000 for their chosen charitable institutions.

The Voice Kids finalist Darren Espanto bagged a total of four major awards: Wish Young Artist of the Year, Best WISHclusive Performance by a Young Artist for “Chandelier,” Wish Original Song of the Year for “Stuck,” and Wish Ballad Song of the Year for “I Believe In Me.”

Espanto’s chosen beneficiary, World Vision, received P400,000.

Other winners included Jason Dy whose charity organization was given a total of P300,000 for his three awards. The group 5th Gen, pop artist Yeng Constantino, and another The Voice finalist Morissette Amon did not go home empty-handed. Sponge Cola won the Wish Alternative Song of the Year for its hit single “Move on.”

Kuya Daniel congratulated the winners, saying, “We celebrate, not only the innovations in the music scene, but most importantly, the singers behind the songs.”

“Now, we will continue on our journey (that started) with the Wish 107.5 bus and Wish 107.5 Music Awards. (We look forward to starting) other opportunities that are just waiting to be tapped and accomplished,” Kuya Daniel added.

Wish FM 107.5 is the first radio station on wheels in the Philippines conceptualized by Kuya Daniel.

Written by Carmi Tongol-Anecito